What is IIT ?

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) is the institutes for higher education(scientists, engineers, and technologists) in India. They also know as the Institution Of The Nation by the govt on the act of  Institutes of technology(1961). The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 lists twenty-three institutes were established.

The first IIT institute was set up in Kharagpur in 1951. After the first institute, soon the second institution was set up in Bomboy(1958).

 Table of 23 IITs 

IIT Kharagpur1951
IIT Bombay1958
IIT Kanpur1959
IIT Madras1959
IIT Delhi1963
IIT Guwahati1994
IIT Roorkee2001
IIT Ropar2008
IIT Bhubaneswar2008
IIT Gandhinagar2008
IIT Hyderabad2008
IIT Jodhpur2008
IIT Patna2008
IIT Indore2009
IIT Mandi2009
IIT (BHU) Varanasi2012
IIT Tirupati2015
IIT Palakkad2015
IIT Bhilai2016
IIT Dhanbad2016
IIT Goa2016
IIT Dharwad2016
IIT Jammu2016

From the academic session 2013, the admission in these institutions takes place through joint entrance examination (IIT-JEE) exams. IIT-JEE exams are conducted in the two stages- IIT-JEE Mains and IIT-JEE Advance. From the year of 2019 JEE mains are conducted twice in a year(before it was conducted ones in a year).

JEE mains exam was conducted by National Testing Agency(NTA)(from 2019, before it was conducted by CBSE) mainly in the month of January and April while the JEE advance exam was conducted by IIT institutes only in the month of May.

If you have any question related to IIT then comment below.

Also, read:

What Is Web Browser And How It Work?

Electromagnetic Induction







Please follow and like us: